Housing Grants

Housing Grants Available For SNAP Applicants

Various housing grants are offered by federal, state and local government in order to assist residents in need of financial aids to rent or own a home. These grants, unlike loans, are free for those who qualify and are not subject to being paid back. However, housing grants typically have limited availability and are subject to long wait times. To learn more about the different housing grants available, and what their eligibility requirements are, read the sections below.

Additional Resources SNAP

Housing Grants Types

Housing grants are available to residents who qualify under categories such as first-time homeowners, veterans, seniors searching for senior living apartments or low-income families in general. Unlike loans, which have to be paid back and may incur interest fees. Grants are not based on financial steadiness or credit rating and are not expected to be paid back. Be mindful that the availability of these government-issued grants is limited and wait times are typically long. The most common types of housing grants below:

  • Housing vouchers (Section 8): Low-income, elderly or disabled residents may be eligible to receive housing vouchers issued by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. These vouchers are free for those who qualify and are meant to assist those who cannot afford housing expenses through their own sources of income.
  • First-time homebuyer grants: Residents who are buying a home for the first time may qualify for first-time homeowner grants as well as tax breaks offered by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
  • Veteran grants: Residents who have served in the military may qualify for a VA home loan, lower interest rate in a home refinancing process, VA mortgage assistance or a specially adapted housing (SAH) grant in the case of disabled veterans.
  • Senior grants: Residents who are 62 years of age or older may qualify for HUD-sponsored programs such as Section 202.
  • Disability grants: Adults who have become disabled may qualify for HUD-sponsored rent assistance programs such as Section 811.

Additional Housing Grants Available

There are also additional housing grants that focus on building and refurbishing homes in rural communities. These grants are available to homeowners and potential homeowners who want to live in qualifying communities. Rural housing grants can help offset the costs of repairs, installing insolation and making energy efficient upgrades. These particular grants are not available everywhere and you will need to establish the criteria that defines rural in your area. Residents who have experienced natural disasters may also qualify for housing grants that can support repairs for damaged homes or help support the purchase of new or temporary housing after severe damage. Disaster grants help to provide support when home insurance cannot cover the damage done my major threats such as earthquakes, wild fires or floods. Grants for public service members to purchase homes are also available in some states. These grants are given with the purpose of supporting developing neighborhoods and equipping these neighborhoods with police officers, fire fighters and EMTs. Service members can benefit from low down payments and grant support towards mortgage payments or a reduction in total price of the home. Homes may be available due to foreclosure. Teachers may also qualify for this grant program depending on where they live. Qualifying for this program may require moving to a new area that has qualifying homes available.

Additional Resources Housing Grants

Housing Grants Eligibility & Application Requirements

Housing vouchers, also known as the Section 8 program, are locally administered by public housing agencies (PHAs). This program receives federal funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and determines which low-income applicants qualify to receive housing grants. Eligibility for housing grants is based on an applicant's total annual gross income, family size and citizenship status. Low-income families or individuals receiving housing vouchers are responsible for finding the apartment or home where they will reside, and the unit must comply with the minimum health and safety standards established by the PHA. These housing vouchers are paid directly to property owners, and if there is a difference between the subsidized amount and the actual rent, the families or individuals who reside in the unit are responsible for the payment of the remaining amount.
First-time homeowner grants are available through assistance programs from federal, state and local government. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Good Neighbor Next Door program, for instance, may qualify law enforcement officers, teachers, firefighters and emergency medical technicians (EMTs) to up to 50 percent off the listing price of a home. Other first-time homebuyers may qualify for different housing grants and tax credits established by the Internal Revenue Service.

Additional Resources Section 8

Veterans may be eligible for several options, including VA home loans or mortgage assistance, lower interest rates in a home refinancing process or a specially adapted housing (SAH) grant in the case of veterans who were disabled during their time of service. Additionally, veterans who find themselves temporarily residing in a home owned by a family member may qualify for a temporary residence adaptation (TRA) grant during this period of residence transition.

Additional Resources VA Home Loans

In addition to housing vouchers (Section 8), seniors may qualify for assistance such as the multifamily subsidized housing program. Also known as Section 202, the multifamily subsidized housing program is a rent assistance benefit specifically designed for seniors and disabled adults to continue being financially independent in regards to their housing expenses. Low-income adults who are 62 years of age or older may qualify for a housing grant under this Section 202 program, which typically offers one-bedroom apartments that were built taking into consideration the particular needs of seniors. Low-income adults who experience disability or chronic mental illnesses may also qualify for free housing through Section 811, which provides apartments in living communities that were specifically designed for residents with disabilities.
Residents should also note that all public housing must allow reasonable accommodations for all homes to help disabled residents live comfortably. Reasonable accommodation is defined by a modification that helps a disabled resident access all facilities and amenities with equally-ease as able-bodied residents.

Additional Resources is privately owned and not associated with any government agency.

Terms | Privacy Policy

© 2018 All Rights Reserved.